Symbolic meaning behind The Golem, Bluefinger, etc
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Troubles A Foot
= Cult of Ray =

USA
815 Posts

Posted - 07/08/2022 :  09:40:20  Show Profile  Visit Troubles A Foot's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I was thinking about a few things recently. This is all just an interpretation and I have no inside knowledge of Charles's dreams and desires or issues or anything. I'm also not sure if this has been talked about here.

I was listening to The Golem a lot last week and it sort of hit me...Frank is the Golem. That's why he did this project. Perhaps subconsciously. I think The Golem story/character is capturing his feelings on being resurrected to perform Pixies reunions (and at the time no new material allowed.) A big chunk of rock, brought to life by the powers that be. I'll be your servant...

I think the reference to Pixies lyrics in You're Gonna Pay furthers this idea, and there's little tidbits in the lyrics of the album that jumped out at me. Now of course a lot of lyrics feel disconnected from this idea to too, I'm not saying it is all 100% exactly this, but I think elements of this were rattling around in Frank's head. Pixies reunion, Kim Deal, wanting to play new songs, feeling like you don't have autonomy, your solo career not appreciated or financially rewarding enough, etc, etc.

My coat is long and black
Like dreams collapsed with
Things I want but can't get back
I ain't got jack

And all of this for nothing
After all my huffing and puffing
I'm back and forth
And back and forth,
To prove that I am not bluffing
----

(back and forth, pixies --> solo --> pixies --> etc)

-----
Till I saw my star of doom
Now I got no choice

Well, we almost got to Rithma
But it was too far down the line
So I'm stepping into darkness
On the other side of time

It's no good stuck in the ghetto
Laying around in bed
Lest I forget about those twinkles
Twinkling above my head