New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

hickster9
- FB Fan -

USA
97 Posts

Posted - 04/27/2007 :  09:46:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
This isn't specific to FB, but I figure the musician-types likely to be browsing in this section can help me...

I am curious if anyone can help me to "hear" different time signatures. In college, I seemed to be able to hear them in my classical appreciation classes, but that was a long time ago, in a galaxy, far, far away...er, I digress.

I gather that most stuff is 4/4, but can somebody suggest songs that are of different meter that I can contrast? Or even a place in one song where the signature varies?

Obviously you can tell I am not a musician, merely a listener. But, I'm a math geek and love patterns, so this appeals to me!

I like cows, they go moo when they eat

2Strings
- FB Fan -

United Kingdom
50 Posts

Posted - 04/27/2007 :  09:55:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Tool are a good band to listen to if you want to hear some very strange time signatures. Undertow or Lateralus would be my album suggestions. Particularly on Lateralus there are some songs which change several times.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EDlC7oG_2W4

Edited by - 2Strings on 04/27/2007 09:58:46
Go to Top of Page

hammerhands
* Dog in the Sand *

Canada
1592 Posts

Posted - 04/27/2007 :  11:45:02  Show Profile  Visit hammerhands's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Often you may just feel that something odd is going on, and very often it slips by quite unnoticed like in the verse of The Beatles - All You Need Is Love for example.

The Fastman/Raiderman album is full of this stuff.
http://forum.frankblack.net/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=16487

If you listen to Oh My Golly! back on Surfer Rosa, in the chorus you can hear ...Rosa, Oh, Rosa (something happens) Rosa...

Edited by - hammerhands on 04/28/2007 01:00:59
Go to Top of Page

ProverbialCereal
- FB TabMaster -

USA
2953 Posts